In addition to the Ship of the Year Award nominees announced bij the KNVTS earlier this week, the nominees of the other four awards have also been revealed. The winners will be announced at the Maritime Awards Gala on 6 November at Ahoy Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

All the contenders for the Maritime Awards 2023 have been announced. With many competing entries once again, it promises to be an exciting evening on Monday 6 November. During the Maritime Awards Gala, over 900 maritime professionals will meet to celebrate the innovative strength of the Dutch maritime sector together with the press, politicians and the nominees.

Also read: KNVTS nominates Sparky, Canopée and E-Pusher 1 for Ship of the Year Award

These are this year’s nominees in addition to the Sparky, Canopée, and E-Pusher 1 nominated for the Ship of the Year Award:

Maritime Talent Award

  • Aldo Hirs Alvarez conducted a feasibility study on the use of fuel cells in surface marine vessels.
  • Kalea Holkema investigated wave damping possibilities to apply in a cut-in in a floating structure such as the Pioneering Spirit.
  • Pedro Rappé together with De Boer Marine enables the acquisition of deep maritime insight by enabling the collection, use and sharing of data on board in an accessible way.

Maritime Innovation Award

  • Gusto MSC with the world’s largest telescopic offshore heavy lift crane.
  • Holland Shipyards with H2 Barge 1, a fully hydrogen-powered barge with unique Zero Emission label.
  • Smart-Ship with force-feedback on ship control systems.

Maritime Achievement Award

  • Merchant Shipping Database. Appealing way of drawing attention to maritime-specific wartime history to raise social awareness of the role of seafarers in wartime merchant shipping.
  • Net Zero Climate Agreement Seafaring. On 7 July 2023, at MEPC80, of the International Maritime Organization (IMO), member states agreed on a climate accord that includes a net zero target for international shipping by or near 2050. Acceleration of global shipping sustainability comes closer.
  • Welfare Seafarers. On behalf of the Protestant Church Netherlands (PKN) and umbrella organisation Dutch Seafarers’ Centre, merchant navy pastor Helene Perfors has been committed to the welfare of seafarers in Dutch port areas for years.

Maritime Security Award

  • Max van Zanten with his research on protecting a High Value Unit from an enemy submarine.
  • Paul Limpens with a theoretical and experimental analysis of performance of a propeller under oblique inflow.
  • Pim van de Koppel with his research on the deployment of weapon system PHAROS-DART, intended to defend naval ships against threats such as anti-ship missiles at very close range.

As of now, all films are being shot with the nominees. They will all be presented in detail and the nominations explained in early October. SWZ|Maritime’s October issue will also discuss the nominees in detail.

Picture by SWZ|Maritime/G.J. de Boer.

Also read: Entry now open for Dutch maritime awards in new format